Available 24/7 / Free consultation / No fee unless you win
The Marsh Law Firm helps people like you, who find themselves charged with a DUI in and around Statesboro, Georgia. Put your faith in attorney Troy Marsh because a DUI doesn’t have to define your life.
Attorney Troy Marsh has over 26 years of experience in DUI cases. He’s tackled all types of DUIs, including hundreds of cases for students at Georgia Southern University, East Georgia State College, and Ogeechee Technical College, who don’t want a DUI attached to their permanent record. He’s here to fight for the best possible results.
As a successful personal injury attorney focusing on automobile cases in the civil justice system, Troy is ideally positioned to help with your DUI, especially if someone claims you caused a wreck while impaired. Attorney Troy Marsh knows the ins and outs of drunk driving accidents, insurance claims, and litigation. His criminal defense and civil experience give you a leg up in defending your record and protecting your driver’s license.
A DUI in Bulloch County is a serious criminal charge. To get the best possible outcome, you have to tackle it head-on.
The prosecutor will want to throw the book at you. But, you have the right to legal representation and should never accept your fate and whatever punishment the court gives you. Instead, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact DUI defense attorney Troy Marsh as soon as possible.
Troy Will Be Your Only Lawyer: We aren’t a big law firm that will pass you from one associate to the next. Troy Marsh will always be your lawyer and who you talk to about your case.
He’ll Answer Your Questions: If this is a first-time DUI offense, you probably have many questions. He’ll answer them all and provide weekly updates on your case.
Troy Knows DUI Law & Courts: With over two decades of experience, Troy Marsh knows what it takes to beat DUI charges in and around Bulloch County.
Troy Marsh Gets Results: Sometimes, the cards are stacked against you. When it’s not possible to avoid a DUI conviction, Troy Marsh focuses on mitigating the consequences, like helping you avoid jail.
Most DUI charges in Georgia are misdemeanors, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t take it seriously. A judge can sentence you up to 12 months in jail, community service, probation, and up to $1,000.00 fine plus applicable add-ons and surcharges for a first DUI.
The first step to avoiding a DUI conviction is to call a DUI defense lawyer and tell them what happened. Let Troy listen to your story, and ask him questions. His insight could be what gets your DUI reduced or even dismissed.
Each accident is different, and the results that we’ve achieved for our clients should not be considered an expectation for what we can do for you. We are providing examples of case victories to illustrate that we fight hard for our clients to get meaningful results.
Free Consults & 24/7 Availability
Under Georgia DUI law, you can be charged and convicted of DUI whether you have alcohol, a drug like marijuana, a prescription drug, or a combination in your system.
For most drivers 21 or over, a blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) of 0.08 is considered a “per se” DUI. But, if you have a Commercial Driver’s License and are in a commercial vehicle at the time, the legal limit is 0.04. If you’re under 21, your limit is 0.02.
Keep in mind, you can also face a DUI even if your BAC was technically under the legal limit, but other evidence suggests you were a less safe driver.
1st DUI Offense
2nd DUI Offense within 5 Years
3rd DUI Offense within 5 Years
If you’re a first-time DUI offender, you are NOT eligible for the Georgia First Time Offenders Act. The First Time Offenders Act does not apply to DUI cases
Whether this is your first DUI charge or a second or subsequent offense, you might be scared and frustrated. The overwhelming emotions can make it hard to prepare.
By working with DUI attorney Troy Marsh, you have someone guiding you each step of the way.
The DUI Arrest: DUI arrests usually begin with a traffic stop or a checkpoint (roadblock). Officers stop you, and for one reason or another may suspect you of drinking and driving. They may ask you to blow into a portable, hand-held device, usually an “Alco-Sensor,” and/or perform field sobriety tests. If the officers think they have enough facts supporting a DUI charge, they’ll arrest you.
Getting Out of Jail: Usually, you’ll need to pay a bail bond to get out of jail. In most cases, you can find the date, time, and location of your first court date, called an arraignment, about 2/3 of the way down on the front of the Uniform Traffic Citation. Sometimes the officer won’t know the arraignment date, and you may see “TBD” or “TBA.”
Either way, you will receive notice of your arraignment date in the mail. The arraignment notice will be mailed to you at the address you gave them at the jail. If you want to receive your notice at a different address, you must file a notice of change of address in the Clerk’s office.
Arraignment: This is your first court appearance to answer, or plead to, the charges against you as “guilty,” “not guilty,” or in some cases “nolo contendere” and to announce whether you want a jury trial or a bench trial. A jury trial is when a group of people hear the evidence and decide if you are guilty or not guilty.
A bench trial is when the judge hears the evidence and decides if you are guilty or not guilty. Those are the two main things that happen at arraignment. You should not plead guilty at arraignment before talking to a lawyer.
Investigating Your Case: Immediately after hiring Mr. Marsh, he and his team will independently investigate what happened. Mr. Marsh will file all appropriate motions in court and prepare for the motion hearing and trial, if necessary. He will review the reason for the traffic stop and the officers’ conduct. He will file a demand for copies of all relevant evidence in the prosecutor’s possession, such as body cam videos, dashcam videos, arrest reports, incident reports, witness statements, field sobriety test results, and other evidence.
This is called the “discovery process.” He will use all available means to discover what the prosecutor knows about the case. The documents and other material turned over to Mr. Marsh is called “discovery material.” Mr. Marsh will immediately furnish you with copies of the discovery material and will review it with you. With Mr. Marsh’s advice, you decide if you want to go to trial.
Negotiations With the Prosecutor: Depending on the facts, you may decide not to go to trial. You may decide to authorize attorney Marsh to try to negotiate with the prosecutor for the best possible outcome.
That outcome may involve one or more criminal charges being dismissed or reduced, or it may involve specific terms of a sentence, like community service, a fine, a class, or a combination of terms. This is called “plea bargaining” and is common in criminal cases. In fact, most studies show that over 90% of criminal cases end with a plea bargain instead of a trial.
Trial: Attorney Troy Marsh is not afraid to fight for you at trial. If you decide to go to trial, Mr. Marsh will fight within legal and ethical bounds
Administrative driver’s license suspension cases can be confusing. If you refuse the state-administered chemical test, the officer may issue you an administrative license suspension, which is generally documented on an 8.5” x 11” piece of white or yellow paper. The paper will probably have the number “1205” near the bottom left-hand corner. We refer to that page as a “1205 Form.” That 1205 Form is a separate case from the DUI criminal charge.
If you file a timely appeal to the administrative suspension, a hearing will be scheduled in a different court than your DUI case, in front of a different judge, and usually on a different date. The two cases are entirely separate and distinct. The DUI is a criminal case. The administrative license suspension is a civil case.
If the officer issues you a 1205 Form, you must act quickly, or your driver’s license will be suspended automatically, often before you appear in court on the criminal (DUI) charge.
At The Marsh Law Firm, we know how important your driver’s license is. You have to get to and from school, work, or both. Let our Georgia DUI lawyers fight to keep your license, or at least reduce the amount of time you’re without it.
Yes, most Georgia DUIs are misdemeanors.
A prosecutor can charge you with a felony for a fourth or subsequent DUI within 10 years or if there are other aggravating factors, like causing someone harm or death.
No, you can’t erase or expunge a DUI conviction from your criminal record. Your best option is to fight the charge from the beginning.
No. You have the right to refuse, but there may be criminal and civil consequences.
If police kept your plastic driver’s license, keep a copy of the Uniform Traffic Citation on your person when you drive. If you have a Georgia driver’s license, you can check the status of your license by dialing (404) 657-9300.